Your Child's Learning Journey

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe.

Overarching principles

There are four guiding principles that shape practice in early years settings:~

• every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured

• children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships

• children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers

• children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

In The Moment Planning and the EYFS

At Blue Bell Woods, we capture the interest of a child or children in the present moment.

Young children have a natural desire to learn, explore and question. We offer an environment that enables child-initiated play in order to capture the moment of engagement. Our practitioners carefully observe children and opportunities to seize the moment when a child shows interest in an activity are built on- these are called ‘teachable moments’. We make written observations of these interactions which are shared with families in the form of a Learning Journey.

We offer an engaging environment with materials that will excite and interest the children, allowing learning to take place through child-initiated play. In the moment planning and child-initiated play is a fun and relaxed way for children to learn and progress. We find that by using this approach, the children and the practitioners are more enthusiastic, more engaged, more relaxed, and forge better relationships.

There are three prime areas of Learning and Development:~ 

• communication and language

• physical development

• personal, social and emotional development.

There are  also four specific areas of Learning and Development
• literacy;
• mathematics;
• understanding the world
• expressive arts and design