The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe.

Overarching principles

There are four guiding principles should shape practice in early years settings:~

• every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured;

• children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships;

• children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers; and

• children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates. The framework                                                                                             covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including                                                                                                   children with special educational needs and disabilities.

There are three prime areas of Learning and Development:~ 

• communication and language

• physical development

• personal, social and emotional development.

There are  also four specific areas of Learning and Development
• literacy;
• mathematics;
• understanding the world
• expressive arts and design